Posted by: nancyteegardin | March 18, 2009

Working

Day 2 of our meetings in Schaumberg and we’re getting alot done.  The hard part is using the 1o minute breaks to actually use the bathroom, call my husband, talk to the kids who are home on Spring Break, grab a water, check voicemails and be back on time. 

I’m sure you know exactly what I’m talking about.  Juggling.   It’s hard to make sure that the people closest to us, know how important they really are to you.  ie. does my husband knows how much he is appreciated – I always ask about the kids first. 

Anyway, all of the annoying marathon analogies are correct.  It’s a long run, with some flat ground, some hills and if you don’t pace yourself or have the right balance, you don’t make it.   

I  have gotten some great training in my life – first from my parents, of course.  Some good experiences in school and church and then at The Home Depot.  Home Depot had a great week of Orientation Training that, 15 years later, I still remember.  

The truth of the matter is that no one, and I mean no one,  is going to tell you something new about core values and best practices.  It’s all been around for a long time, and it’s just a matter of  timing – when will you be ready to listen and practice this stuff.  Not until you, yourself, are ready, will you make the changes in your day to day thinking and actions and move forward. 

I have to remind myself often that the definition of insanity is to do the same thing over and over again and expect different results from the same old actions.  ~HA !

The weather had been very sunny and warm for the last 2.5 days and it turned gray and dreary – as I gazed out the office windows – away from the overhead projection of our P&L review exercise. 

Thanks for stopping to read.  You are appreciated.  Don’t forget it and be sure to treat yourself well- in any little way you can!

Responses

  1. I really like your humor. A dose of it everyday would do us all some good. Keep writing.

    MAR


Leave a Reply

Categories

