Posted by: nancyteegardin | April 24, 2009

Stressed out Soccer Moms

I’m going to talk about something that is just NOT talked about out loud.   You know those well-dressed, kind, soccer moms that shuttle their kids around everywhere?  THEY ARE STRESSED OUT!  Now, this may be you and you may be saying, ‘no kidding’, but honestly, why are we spending so much time taking care of everyone else, but not ourselves?  SAY NO!  Especially if its something for the kids.  They are going to have to learn at some point in life about the word “no” and how to cope.

Now, those of you that know me personally, will seriously laugh out loud. Because although I say “no” to my kids alot, it is nearly impossible to say “no” to the school or friends or family that need my time or ear or whatever. 

BUT, thats not the point.  The point is WHY are we pretending or trying to be something we are not for everyone else, but yet amongst ourselves, we are commiserating about the unhappiness, stress, etc.???  And I am talking about God fearing, trustworthy people here.  What didn’t we learn?  Why aren’t we changing it now? 

A wonderful switch got tripped when I turned 40 and I FINALLY got comfortable in my own skin.  I suddenly was ok if everyone didn’t like me.  I realized I could say ‘no’.  I realized that I was the grown up and controlled my world – of course, I know that God controls my world, but you know what I mean -I realized that I had to change my choices, priorities and everything else that I knew.

And guess what.  It is true.  As soon as you make YOURSELF a priority, everyone else around you will, too.  I know you’ve heard it all before, I did, too, but until you IMPLEMENT actions that show your time as valuable, you will be stuck in the stressed out soccer mom rut.

I implemented some daily computer time for research or socializing, added some walking with the neighbors to lose the winter 15 most recently, and most importantly, about a year ago, I starting taking my health seriously and starting taking Shaklee supplements.  What a difference these steps have made in my life.   I should note that I have already gone through my crisis of faith, which made my faith stronger – but thats a whole ‘nother post.  But my faith and prayer are HUGE parts of my daily routine.  

There are so many choices out there to help you deal with stress, that sometimes no choice is the easist choice.   Please STOP and look at your choices.   The first step is being honest with yourself, and stopping your belief in your own bologna.    It’s hard, and unless you have an awesome best friend who knows you better than yourself, you may never look inward.

I hope you:

1) Put it in God’s hands, and ask him to take it off your shoulders;

2) Stop the madness – whatever it is that makes you the most nuts;

3) Make time for yourself, make your family make time for YOU;

4) Breathe deeply;

5)  Get serious about your health and what you put into your body, we have it for such a short time.

You’re doing great.  You will make it through it.  We have the kids for a short time before they’re off conquering the world, so get to know them – sit and watch and listen to them.  Its hard to do, but the housework will wait.

Leave a Reply

Categories

